Saturday, November 28, 2015

BSO — 2015/11/24-28

That's right, instead of running from Thursday through Saturday (or the occasional following Tuesday) this week's program is being given, as shown by the dates in the title, from Tuesday through Saturday, because there is no concert on Thanksgiving Day. (Unlike certain retail giants, the BSO gives its people the day off.)

It's a concert I would have liked to attend in person and one I'm looking forward to hearing. I'll listen to the Haydn and Bartók live, and the Tchaikovsky during the rebroadcast December 7. The Bartók may be a bit challenging, but the rest should be pleasant. The BSO's performance detail page gives this description (reversing the order of the first two pieces):
Andris Nelsons and Yefim Bronfman collaborate with the BSO in Bartók's dazzling Piano Concerto No. 2, a formidably difficult work the composer wrote for himself to perform. Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 30, Alleluja, dating from 1765, takes its nickname from the Gregorian chant melody in its first movement. Another relative rarity is Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1, Winter Daydreams. Begun in 1866 but not premiered until 1883, the symphony is the earliest major work by the composer, and is saturated with elements of Russian folk music style.

Join the conversation online by using #BSOBronfman for this concert series or #BSO1516 on your social networks to discover the excitement of the season and connect with one another!
(Emphasis added.)

That page has its usual links to Media Center, performer bios (click on the thumbnail pics), program notes, and audio previews.

The Globe's review is favorable, as is that in the Boston Musical Intelligencer; although the latter is less than completely satisfied with the sound in the Haydn.

You can listen live on air or via the web on WCRB this evening (Nov. 28) at 8:00 p.m., Boston Time, and/or a rebroadcast/stream at 8:00 p.m. on Monday, December 7. The station's BSO page links their feature "The Answered Question," which this week has an interview with the conductor and a remembrance of the late Joseph Silverstein, former BSO concertmaster, by principal cellist Jules Eskin.

This is the last BSO concert in Symphony Hall until January 7. December will be taken up with Holiday Pops. WCRB will fill the usual BSO spots in their schedule with rebroadcasts of concerts given last summer at Tanglewood, plus one live broadcast and a rebroadcast of a Holiday Pops concert. Check their BSO page for specific listings. I'll also post weekly about what's coming up.

No comments:

Post a Comment