Saturday, March 2, 2013

BSO — 2013/02/28-03/02

This evening you can listen live or on March 10 to a rebroadcast/stream to a program of Hindemith, Rachmaninoff, and Bartók. The Boston Symphony's program details page gives the following details
With Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos on the podium, the sensational Chinese pianist Lang Lang makes his BSO debut in Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2. Two works tied to the history of the Boston Symphony Orchestra bookend the program: Hindemith's Konzertmusik for Strings and Brass, commissioned by Serge Koussevitzky and the BSO on the occasion of the orchestra's 50th anniversary in 1931, and Bartók's ingeniously kaleidoscopic Concerto for Orchestra, a Koussevitzky commission premiered by the BSO in 1944. - See more at:
and has links to background info as usual.

The Globe's reviewer found things to criticize in all three pieces, but thought that it wasn't all bad. Judge for yourself. I'm not familiar enough with any of them to say he's wrong, but I will say that the Bartók Concerto for Orchestra, a BSO specialty from the world premiere, sounded really good to me.

As usual, Classical New England will broadcast/stream this evening's concert at 8:00 (with preliminaries at 7:00) and repeat on March 10 (at 1:00 I expect). The CNE's BSO page gives links to interviews with conductor and soloist.

No comments:

Post a Comment